Mnemonic for the 7 layer OSI model

All Present Said The Naked Dutch Pervert - an aide-mémoire

The International Organization for Standardization (ISO) Open Systems Interconnection model (OSI) describes the internal functions of a communication system as a set of layers.

Layer 7: Application layer

Layer 6: Presentation layer

Layer 5: Session layer

Layer 4: Transport layer

Layer 3: Network layer

Layer 2: Data link layer

Layer 1: Physical layer

At UMIST we were taught the "Bottom Up" method. So

"All Present Said The Naked Dutch Pervert"   

Valid CSS!   Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict